September Hat Project

I guess it’s because September is traditionally back-to-school time here in the United States that this month gives me the urge to learn new things.  This year, I’ve decided to improve my knitting and crochet skills by stitching up 20 or so hats by the end of the month.  In addition to hats of my own invention, I am taking the time to work some patterns designed by other people that utilize techniques I’d like to practice, such as short rows, calculated decreases, cables, and motifs.

 

Why hats?  Because they’re small projects, they work up quickly, and it’s not a heartbreak to have to frog them if something goes wrong.  Also, I’ve got a big stash of yarn leftovers that are not enough for larger projects, but a little too much and too varied in weight and texture to be dedicated to a true “scrap” project.

 

So, after years of “lurking” on Ravelry, I’ve finally begun posting my projects.  Helping my transition into the digital age of fiber arts is a neat  little Android app called Knitting Patterns Database, which has links to most of the major online knitting and crochet pattern sources, and also a row counter, yarn calculator, and yarn and needle/hook conversions.  I am absolutely loving the row counter for patterns that use short rows, such as Ysolda Teague’s Urchin, which I recently made for Baby Girl:

 

Baby girl Urchin

Ysolda’s designs are always cute and cool and this one was no exception.  Working this hat on straight needles was a lot of fun( once I realized what was going on in the pattern after ripping out my first 8 rows about 5 times thinking I was missing something!), I was able to finish the knitting in one night, while watching a movie with the family, and graft it the following morning over breakfast.  What a good use for this crazy Patons yarn I got on clearance!  I think I’ll be making more of these with some of the other funky chunky yarns I’ve got on hand.

The pattern is free on Ravelry at:

http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/urchin

Urchin by Ysolda Teague

Urchin by Ysolda Teague

Leave a comment

Filed under Knitting Hats in September, Yarny goodness

Leave a Comment

