Adventures in Hat Knitting, October

Escargot by Veronica Parsons close side view

Escargot by Veronica Parsons – another free “wow that’s cool I want to knit that” Ravelry pattern.  Originally appearing in Knitty Winter 2011, this pattern is another 20s- style cloche, with a very pretty spiral detail and interesting construction.  It came out rather big and slouchy with the recommended needle size, which I’d  have known if I’d bothered to swatch or at least read the project notes by other Ravelers before casting on.  Slouchy is great for me, but my mom wants one too, and slouchy hats just schleprock down right over her eyes, so I’ll need to go down a needle size or two for her.  I also see that Jami Stephens, another designer on Ravelry modified the original pattern for a child size version.  Of course Baby Girl has more than enough hats, but I have several very stylish young nieces who’d look great in one of these, maybe with coordinating leggies or mitts for a holiday gift?

Escargot spiral detail

Leave a comment

Filed under Knitting Hats in September, Yarny goodness

Leave a Comment

