Coolest Kid on my block

 

 

Cool kid closeup

Post-holiday creating means I finally have the time to do some projects I’ve been wanting to get to for a while.  I’ve wanted to do this sweater and hat by Vickie Howell since I first saw it published in Creative Knitting magazine way back in the fall of 2013.  Called “The Coolest Kid on the Block”, it’s done in Howell’s Sheepish Stripes yarn.  This wool and acrylic blend is not only very affordably priced, it works up and washes like a much more expensive yarn.  In addition to several self-striping colors, it’s also available in a variety of lovely solids.  I’ve used it in a number of projects and have been very pleased with the results.  The magazine’s version uses the “Punkish”Stripes, but Baby Girl’s sweater and hat are done in  “Citrusish” with “Chartreuseish” trim, a cheery mix of colors that are just what we need to warm up a gray NEPA winter day:

 

Cool kid smarmy

I did the sweater a size bigger than my girl is right now, hoping she’ll get some wear out of it next year also.  For buttons, BG herself chose some yellow flowers made by Babyville that I had left over from my diaper sewing adventures.   The original pattern also includes a pair of fingerless gloves, which I may do at a later time, but I’m thinking boot cuffs may be more useful, since she’s not at all into keeping her mittens on just yet.

 

 

 

 

Here’s a link to the pattern on Ravelry:

http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/coolest-kid-on-the-block

 

Cool kid on sofa

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cool kid rear view

Leave a comment

Filed under Knitting, Yarny goodness

Leave a Comment

