A New Adventure

In between my latest efforts at spinning yarns and experiments with wet and needle felting, I have also picked up hook or needles every day.  Some of the OPP (other people’s patterns) I have recently completed include Urban Jungle and Capucine, both free on Ravelry.

Urban Jungle, a crocheted slouchy by Vickie Howell, caught my attention while I was checking the TV schedule on Create TV’s website for “Knit and Crochet Now”, a cool show that features excellent teachers and interesting patterns.  The Urban Jungle pattern was a link on Create’s page.  It features a puff stitch pattern and a ribbed band.  My initial thought was that it would be a gift for one of my older daughters, but after working it up in just a couple of hours, I tried it on, and discovered that it was one of the most comfortable hats I have ever put on my head.  The deep purple stash yarn I used looks great with my current shade of red hair, if I do say so myself.  Said daughter stopped by later that day, admired the hat, and requested a green one.  So I’ll be getting to that one soon.

Urban Jungle Crocheted Slouchy

 

 

For Capucine,a knit pattern by Adela Illichmanova, I chose a vintage yarn from a box recently passed on by my older sister, a fluffy brown with a very subtle variegation. This hat was for Baby Girl, to go with her purple winter coat, so I cast on with some of same purple I used for my own hat, using a technique I’d seen on ” Knit and Crochet Now”.  I also used some of the same purple (this crazy skein seemingly has no end!  I’ve also done another hat and a pair of socks from it.) for the tassels on each side, and at the back.  The original pattern is embellished with appliquéd birds, but BG instead chose a felted flower to add to one of the tassels.  She looks like a million bucks in it, and I love that we’re coordinated, but not matching.

Capucine

On the original side, I’ve really been making an effort to use up some of my stash with small projects, and in addition to listing the finished object for sale in my Etsy shop, I have written out some of the patterns in PDF format, and opened a shop on Craftsy’s pattern store.  I really like Craftsy, not only for patterns, but their online classes are wonderful!  You get video instruction from top teachers, with the ability to replay each lesson as many times as you want, and also the opportunity to interact with both instructors and classmates with questions, and to share your projects associated with the class.

So that’s my big announcement; I am now a pattern seller!  My first listed paid pattern is a super-simple version of my ever-popular yoga socks, done on double points, with a variation on the bind-off to give a little stretch.  I used another one of my “inherited” stash yarns to make the sample, and wish I had more than one skein of this cranberry and grey mix, which is easily 20 years old, and is long out of production.  (That’s a future post to do with dyeing, something BG and I have been dabbling in since last summer.) Next up for me: using my handspun to create freeform pieces.  In the meantime, you can check out my first listing and the rest of my current patterns here:

Basic yoga sock

Leave a comment

Filed under crochet, Knitting, My Original Patterns, Yarny goodness

Leave a Comment

